#5 Reading

The intimidation and other silencing tactics affects the power of blogging by limiting the number of different voices on Web 2.0. The most affective way I saw intimidation being overcome was through the unrelenting support of women’s issues. Involving women and “their issues” on major blogs like Pandagon did as we read in Blogging While Female in a Male-Dominated Blogoshpere. I really support thatidea. I am an activist when it comes to finding alternative media sources for myself and anyone close to me. These silencing tactics are very strong. It’s very easy to beat someone down further when already their status is so fragile.

Just yesterday I was doing a little dub for the guy who is making the documentary of the Take Back the Night committee. He had taken classes with one of my favorite English/ Women’s Studies professor before yet he cannot yet comprehend why she pushes women’s literature so much. He does not understand or see the marginalization of women. But I was glad to learn that next semester, he will be taking two of her classes! I hope he gets it! I connect this with the readings because of the lack of understanding of most people. They just don’t know anything until they have walked a mile in a marginalized group’s shoes. It sows the need for feminism’s incorporation in what is widely consumed.

Blogs as a place for resistance and attack: Free speech is a double edged sword.

Truths are better seen when there is someone investigating further. A fabrication of a stereotype can easily be made into more than it is such as with the DABA NY Times scandal. The story was easily believed because of the view of women in society. But in reality, it did not exist!

3 Comments »

  1. arthermit said

    It’s funny (for a given value of “funny”) how unaware guys can be of the marginalization of women. If a story (or show or movie) is all-female, it’s strange and worthy of comment (and of no interest to males) but the same isn’t true if it’s all-guy. I once took an acting class where I had to find a scene for three women, and it was next to impossible, but I can think of dozens off the top of my head that are three men.

    A friend of mine (another artist) honestly didn’t get why his images of females could be seen as misogynistic. Luckily, he was aware enough to take a women’s studies course on pop culture, and I think it really opened his eyes to some of the experiences we take for granted.

    I’ve had other guy friends not believe me when I told them that in high school, my (all-girl) school had given a lecture on personal safety that amounted to “you are never safe, ever, also don’t take a job or do anything where you have to go out at night.” Not kidding.

    • Ann said

      I have a serious dislike for pushing women’s “safety awareness” because of the lack of education there is for boys who become the attackers. We should not have to be fearful! Men need to take it on themselves to end the violence against their mothers, sisters, daughters, wives, and friends.

    • Ann said

      I would also like to add that I think all girl schools rock! As for all boys’ schools, however, I think probably do a good job of teaching respect for women, but I think there is harshness about it too. The idea I have in my head has a very masculine empowerment tone to it that is more exclusive. I think it’s MTV that does a show with wild gals being put into a top school for girls. The idea of femininity that is acceptable does not consider the social or economic factors that lead to the sex-related work some of the girls had done in the past. I read something about it at Bitch magazine’s blog. The idea of teaching someone to be a lady or a gentleman irks me some because of the preconceived idea of what a lady/gentleman and the judgment against everyone else.
      Perhaps schools should not seperate depending on sex but on learning style.
      I’m interested in the discussion of all girl/boy schools. I did a research paper on them once, but it was a pretty crappy paper to be honest. I’ll have to read up on it again.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

