#6 Reading: Riverbend’s blog

A great thing about blogs is that they are like diaries only we don’t have to wait for the author’s death or publication to read it. I had to let one of my favorite professors know about Riverbend’s blog. She may have already known about it, but I just had to make sure. Like the articles about the blog said, her blog has more depth than the media. It is a different way to understand the war. And I think it is the better way for me to become more aware of what is going on. A friend of mine is taking Women’s Studies 101 this semester. He lent me one of the novels they read in the class called 1,000 Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. It is the fictional story of two women living through the continuous warring over there, starting in the 60’s and ending in 2003. The novel was excellent! Read it! Women’s experience in war is so much more different than men’s.

I would almost say that an OK blogis better than a really great novel. Who knows if that could be a true statement or not. Riverbend’s blog conveys reality just a bit better. I did not fully feel the Holocaust until I read Fireweed which is Gerda Lerner’s autobiography. And the only thought that went through my head in high school were about boys, so that may have had an impact on my understanding of the reality of genocide. I find that reading a person’s real story, where I can feel the pain of each day, to be more effective than just the death counts. A blog is totally bias, but I think it is better to side with the ideas of an actual individual than with the media. It is a voice of a living person who is conveying a reality that mainstream media forms cannot.

3 Comments »

  1. Blanca said

    Some blogs are sort of literary works of art. And it’s like you said, more effective because it’s like a very, very long novel. I think that biographies and autobiographies are biased, I think there is a bias to about 90% of the literature out there.

    I get anxious when I have to wait for a blog post, haha, it’s very suspenseful. The Green Mile by Stephen King was written in 6 sections, and the readers had to wait about a month to get the next part of the book, and that’s the way I feel about blogs!

  2. Linsey said

    I feel exactly the same way you do about Riverbend’s blog. While I was reading about her experiences as well as those of her fellow Iraqis, I felt like this is one of many aspects of the war that the media has no particular interest in and omits. You hear about death tolls and the death tolls of American soldiers and marines, in particular, but that’s pretty much all. Reading a blog like this has value that an ordinary book does not. The value comes from events being posted as they happen. I think it makes it more real, in a way.
    -Linsey (“New Beginnings”)

  3. docjay said

    Great post. I really like your idea of comparing it to a journal that we get to read as it unfolds. You might be interested in reading the 2 books that are all of her posts over a long period. You can pick them up cheep online (I would say Amazon, but as you know they are in the dog house, but there are many other places too!). Keep up the good work.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

